Random Acts of "Kindness"

TICK TOCK

It should come as no surprise if I mention that many years ago, I discovered that I was often in the right place at the right time to help someone or be helped in return. At least twenty years ago, I was instrumental in saving my neighbor’s life. When I realized the timing, goose bumps rose on my arms and whenever I told the story, they came back. The story was written in TO PAP, WITH LOVE.

Recently, timing was brought to my attention again. This time, it wasn’t a life changing event, just an ordinary day. And since it was a normal day, the timing on reflection, gave me a smile.

I had a few errands to run. At first, I was going to walk, but I was tired and when I thought of all the stops, I decided to drive. First the bank. It wasn’t that my transaction was difficult, I was tired, my mind was muddled. I couldn’t figure out the best way to cash a check, deposit money in the savings account AND transfer more money into the checking account so I could pay some unforeseen bills. Just how many slips did I need to fill out? Luckily, the bank clerk has unraveled my transactions before.

Next stop, the grocery store. In the parking lot, I met a woman whose daughter went to school with my eldest daughter. We won’t talk about how many years ago that was. Sun out for a moment, we chatted for a while. Heading for the store once again, I noticed an elderly woman was having trouble moving a cart. The braking mechanism had locked. I lent a helping hand which led to another discussion. This time about strength and leg ulcers. She had a sore on her leg that wasn’t healing.

Finally entering the store, I picked up the few items that were on my list. Heading for the check out line, a story in a magazine caught my eye. Since I didn’t want to buy it, I read the short article, half blocking the lane. A man asked if the station was open, and if he could pass. Following him into the line, I overheard his conversation about a sale item. Curious, I asked what was on sale. (We had just returned home from our daughter’s and I hadn’t looked at the sales.) I learned that boneless, skinless chicken breast was on sale. Once again, I planned to start a restricted eating plan and chicken breast was on the menu. I knew I could wrap them singularly, and only take out one at a time. Before purchasing a package, I confirmed with the butcher that the chicken wasn’t sodium injected.

My “friends in High Places” often have my best interest in mind.  THANK YOU!
Regaining my strength and energy, is high on my list. Possibly also on theirs.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

