Random Acts of "Kindness"

I will admit that I’m stubborn. I have had an open wound on my left leg since March and have not gone to the doctor. I knew it was coming. I watched a small black dot slowly rise to the surface and when it became an open wound, I wasn’t surprised. I tried to keep it small, eat healthy, etc. but it continued to grow. Stress and other things of normal life prevented me from going to the doctor until it became so large I was embarrassed.

Each time I determined that if it hadn’t started healing by such and such a date, I was going to the doctor. Something else always happened to delay the making of an appointment.

Then it began to heal, and I was very thankful. But I had not learned the lesson yet, whatever the lesson is. I think it has to do with making sure that I have myself on the list, taking care of my needs as well as the needs of others. Often I’m at the store, buying food my family needs and forget that I have to have different items since I’m sodium restricted. When I’m back at home, and ready to cook dinner, I discover most of the stuff that I can eat is still in the store.

Now it is August. My left leg rebelled or decided to self destruct. On the fifth, I hit my leg with the vacuum cleaner. On the 9th, a porch folding chair fell on my left toes. On the 15th, I banged my left foot on our dog’s gate.  Which brings me to the 19th, a can of luncheon meat, fell off the shelf, onto my left foot. Not done yet, in the store,, a box of mushrooms, fell onto my left shin.

I was getting the message. Leg WAS NOT happy.

I wear compression socks because of poor circulation. My left leg was itching, so I scratched it with abandon, over the stockings. I was very surprised to see a blister on my leg, followed in two days by another one. The stocking acted as a scouring pad and scoured my leg.

I cover the open sores on my leg with gauze pads, held in place by paper tape. I was not happy as the area covered by this protection grew in size. So far, I haven’t found shin guards.

A friend told me about a treatment with castor oil and a heating pad which has done her leg some good. By now, I was desperate enough to try it. As I write, five days into the treatment, the blisters seem to be healing. The scratches up and down the leg are either healing or gone. Hopefully soon the larger sore will begin to heal again.

I’M KEEPING MYSELF ON THE LIST. Right now, anyway.

Comments on: "Is Someone Trying To Tell Me Something" (1)

  1. Hi, I do believe this is an excellent blog. I stumbledupon it 😉 I’m going to revisit yet again since I book-marked it. Money and freedom is the best way to change, may you be rich and continue to help other people.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

